Home   |   My Groups   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join Now
Community Search
Get Connected

SCBA Needs You!

 

Join the SCBA in its efforts to enrich the lives and careers of our members and our community. Attend a meeting or contact a committee/section chair to find out how you can get involved.

 

COMMITTEES

 

o   Audit – periodically reviews sufficiency of internal controls, reliability of financial reporting, and compliance with applicable laws and regulations, and oversees audits by external auditors, when used.

·        Chair – Jonathan Whitney, 941.951.1800, jwhitney@lutzbobo.com

 

o   Communications – disseminates information that will advance the cause of the SCBA and is responsible for Awards, Website, The Docket, Press Releases and the Law & Sarasota Television Program.

·       Chair – Daniel Strader, 941.364.2735, dstrader@slk-law.com

 

o   Executive – remains a separate committee as set forth in Article III, Section 5(e) of the Bylaws.

·        Chair – Chip Gaylor, 941-484-3000, chip.gaylor@mgswlaw.com

 

o   Finance – responsible for reviewing and providing guidance for financial matters, including the updating of SCBA financial policies. Assures internal controls, independent audit, and financial analysis for the organization. Assists with annual budget planning process that would include input from YLD and SCD treasurers.

·       Chair – Mark A. Haskins, 941.281.4000, mark@markhaskinspa.com

 

o   Governance – maintains, reviews and revises operating policies and procedures of the Board. Will maintain and revise Bylaws and is responsible for contract reviews.

·       Chair – Stacy Dillard-Spahn, 941.681.8700, stacy.dillard@flalandlaw.com

 

o   Membership – responsible for recruitment, retention and engagement of members.

·       Chair – Nancy Cason, 941.365.7171, ncason@smrl.com

 

o   Nominating – seeks and recommends candidates for SCBA Board and Officer positions. Three members at-large are appointed at the January Board of Directors meeting.

·       Chair – Nancy Cason, 941.365.7171, ncason@smrl.com

 

o   Programs – identifies, facilitates and encourages opportunities & activities for members.

·      o   Chair – Jonathan Whitney, 941.951.1800, jwhitney@lutzbobo.com

 

o   Task Forces – address a particular issue that is of limited duration and each one shall report to the Chair of the Committee that is most relevant to that particular task force. 

 

SECTIONS

Section Chairs & Board Liaisons -- Sept. 1, 2017-Aug. 31, 2018

 

 

ADR

Chair: John Chapman

jchapman@johnchapmanlaw.com

 

Family

Chair: Amanda King

aking@smrl.com

 

 

Appellate

Chair: Meghan Serrano

mserrano@slk-law.com

 

Labor & Employment

Chair: Jessica Farrelly

jfarrelly@icardmerrill.com

 

Business

Chair: Caroline Saavedra

cs@huttondominko.com

 

Local & State Government

Chair:  Maggie Mooney-Portale

mportale@swflgovlaw.com

 

Civil Trial

Chair: Amanda Croteau

croteau@rasflaw.com

 

Real Property

Chair:  Cynthia Riddell

criddell@rlglawfirm.com

 

Elder Law Section

Chair:  Neil Lyons

nlyons@boyerboyer.com
 

Solo/Small Firm

Chair: Jeanne Bennett

jeanne@obrienbennett.com

 

Estate Planning & Probate

Chair: Sean Byrne

sean@sarasotaelderlaw.com

 

 

 

 

 

Featured Members
Chip Gaylor Esq.Chip is President-elect of the SCBA
E. K. DuBose Esq.Keith is President of SCBA

Online Surveys
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal