Home   |   My Groups   |   Sign In   |   Join Now
Community Search
Annual Awards

The SCBA recognizes on an annual basis members, judges, legal support specialists, and/or organizations that have devoted their time and resources above and beyond the expectations of the profession.  A call for nominations by the Awards Committee begins in June, with the recipients selected by September 1.  Awards are presented at the Installation Dinner.  The categories are as follows:


Distinguished Community Service Award

This award recognizes extraordinary service to the community by a member of the Sarasota County Bar Association.


C.L. McKaig Award

This award recognizes extraordinary service to the Sarasota County Bar Association by one of its members in promoting the Association’s goals, programs or functions. It should be noted that Clarence Leslie (C.L.) McKaig (deceased 1992) was the first President of the Sarasota Bar Association in 1934 and was known to be a prominent community leader and to have courtly manners, honesty, grace, and competence in the practice of law that endured for 65 years in Sarasota.


Distinguished Service Award

This award recognizes extraordinary service to the legal profession by a layperson or organization.


View Award Criteria

See Application 

Browse List of Past Award Recipients



 2017 Award Winners


The 2017 Installation Dinner and Awards presentation was an enjoyable night filled with honored guests, great speeches, and many deserving award recipients. On October 11, 2017 the SCBA Awards Committee members had the privilege of helping recognize the men and women of our Bar Association and community who had set themselves apart for their work and achievement.  This year’s event was again held at the Sarasota Yacht Club overlooking beautiful Sarasota Bay. 

This year Stefan Bunecky, Esq. had the privilege of presenting this year’s Distinguished Service Award to Jan Jung. The award was given in recognition of her extraordinary service, dedication, loyalty, and unwavering support of the legal profession, as well as the SCBA and its members, through her promotion of innovation, keen legal industry knowledge, exceptional character, and enduring patience and professionalism.

Erin Christy, Esq. had the honor of presenting the C.L. McKaig Award to the Honorable Lee E. Haworth.  The award was in honor and recognition of his extraordinary service to the Sarasota County Bar Association through tireless advocacy for meaningful and effective increases in access to justice for the disadvantaged and in recognition of his efforts educating the public thus enhancing the image of the legal profession.

Christina Unkel, Esq. had the honor of presenting the Distinguished Community Service Award to Christine R. Sensenig, Esq. Mrs. Sensenig’s award was for recognition of her dedication of countless volunteer hours and pro-bono legal service as Chair of the Community Health Center of Sarasota County as well as other local Sarasota County non-profit organizations which provide primary and preventative care for those in our community regardless of their ability to pay for such care.

Outgoing President E. Keith DuBose had the honor of presenting the President's Award to Stacy Dillard-Spahn, Esq. Mrs. Dillard-Spahn's award was for recognition of her extraordinary commitment in providing exceptional governance overnight to the Board of Directors of the SCBA. Mr. DuBose commented "Thank you for all you have done and continue to do to make our board more efficient and beneficial to both its members and the community. The strength of our board and its bright future are direct results of your hard work."

Congratulations and thank you to all of this year's award winners!

more Calendar

Estate Planning & Probate

Family Law Section Meeting

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal