Home   |   My Groups   |   Sign In   |   Join Now
Community Search
Get Connected

SCBA Needs You!


Join the SCBA in its efforts to enrich the lives and careers of our members and our community. Attend a meeting or contact a committee/section chair to find out how you can get involved.




o   Audit – periodically reviews sufficiency of internal controls, reliability of financial reporting, and compliance with applicable laws and regulations, and oversees audits by external auditors, when used.

·        Chair – Jonathan Whitney, 941.951.1800, jwhitney@lutzbobo.com


o   Communications – disseminates information that will advance the cause of the SCBA and is responsible for Awards, Website, The Docket, Press Releases and the Law & Sarasota Television Program.

·       Chair – Daniel Strader, 941.364.2735, dstrader@slk-law.com


o   Executive – remains a separate committee as set forth in Article III, Section 5(e) of the Bylaws.

·        Chair – Chip Gaylor, 941-484-3000, chip.gaylor@mgswlaw.com


o   Finance – responsible for reviewing and providing guidance for financial matters, including the updating of SCBA financial policies. Assures internal controls, independent audit, and financial analysis for the organization. Assists with annual budget planning process that would include input from YLD and SCD treasurers.

·       Chair – Mark A. Haskins, 941.281.4000, mark@markhaskinspa.com


o   Governance – maintains, reviews and revises operating policies and procedures of the Board. Will maintain and revise Bylaws and is responsible for contract reviews.

·       Chair – Stacy Dillard-Spahn, 941.681.8700, stacy.dillard@flalandlaw.com


o   Membership – responsible for recruitment, retention and engagement of members.

·       Chair – Nancy Cason, 941.365.7171, ncason@smrl.com


o   Nominating – seeks and recommends candidates for SCBA Board and Officer positions. Three members at-large are appointed at the January Board of Directors meeting.

·       Chair – Nancy Cason, 941.365.7171, ncason@smrl.com


o   Programs – identifies, facilitates and encourages opportunities & activities for members.

·      o   Chair – Jonathan Whitney, 941.951.1800, jwhitney@lutzbobo.com


o   Task Forces – address a particular issue that is of limited duration and each one shall report to the Chair of the Committee that is most relevant to that particular task force. 



Section Chairs & Board Liaisons -- Sept. 1, 2017-Aug. 31, 2018




Chair: John Chapman




Chair: Amanda King





Chair: Meghan Serrano



Labor & Employment

Chair: Jessica Farrelly




Chair: Caroline Saavedra



Local & State Government

Chair:  Maggie Mooney-Portale



Civil Trial

Chair: Amanda Croteau



Real Property

Chair:  Cynthia Riddell



Elder Law Section

Chair:  Neil Lyons


Solo/Small Firm

Chair: Jeanne Bennett



Estate Planning & Probate

Chair: Sean Byrne







more Calendar

Labor & Employment Section Meeting

ADR Section Meeting

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal